Murder Comes by Mail (The Hidden Springs Mysteries Book #2) by A. H. Gabhart

murder-comes-by-mail

About the Book

A Cozy Mystery Complete with a Small Town Full of Charming, Quirky Characters

Deputy Sheriff Michael Keane doesn’t particularly enjoy being touted as the hero of Hidden Springs after pulling a suicidal man back from the edge of the Eagle River bridge in front of dozens of witnesses–a few of whom caught the breathtaking moments with their cameras. But the media hype doesn’t last long as a new story pushes its way into the public consciousness of Hidden Springs’ concerned citizens.

Photos of a dead girl arrive in the mail, and Michael becomes convinced she was murdered by the man he saved. With a killer one step ahead, things in Hidden Springs begin to unravel. Now Michael must protect the people he loves–because the killer could be targeting one of them next.

Readers will love racing along with Deputy Sheriff Keane as the clock ticks in this page-turning mystery.

My Review

Sheriff Michael Keane loves his Aunt Lindy and doesn’t want to disappoint her, even if he prefers not to help her. Nevertheless, he helps her and things go downhill from there.

First, while taking a group of Sunday school seniors to a play in a nearby town, he has lots of trouble with the old church bus. Then he has to talk a potentially suicidal person off a bridge, and to make matters worse, the local newshound shows up to take a plethora of photos. However, what Michael doesn’t know is that these are the least of his worries.

Returning to Hidden Springs and becoming reacquainted with the townspeople was delightful, and you get to know and love the people even more. Consequently, when some of the individuals are threatened, you want justice.

The story is written in a swiftly moving pace, primarily from Sheriff Keane’s point of view, and pulls you in, keeping you guessing about the identity of the murderer until the very end.

I generally refrain from reading murder mysteries; however, I had read A. H. Gabhart’s (aka Ann Gabhart) other books in contemporary novels and Shaker historical fiction and really enjoyed them.  So, when the opportunity arose for me to review her mysteries, I decided to read them, and I’m glad I did.

If you like suspenseful, psychological page-turners, then you are sure to enjoy Murder Comes by Mail; even though it is the second book in a series, you won’t be lost if you read it first.

Murder Comes by Mail is a little more intense and graphic than book one, Murder at the Courthouse (see my review: https://captivedreamswindow.wordpress.com/2015/10/16/4607), but don’t let that stop you from reading it.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author and was under no obligation to post a review.

About RobbyeFaye

An avid reader, homemaker and grandmother. I try to be as real, honest and thought provoking as possible. My blog is primarily devoted to book reviews, but at times it has stretched and grown, as it ebbs and flows with me. However, I still read a lot and review the books I read. Loving life and Jesus Christ.
This entry was posted in Book reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Murder Comes by Mail (The Hidden Springs Mysteries Book #2) by A. H. Gabhart

  1. Oh Robbye it is so good to have you back writing reviews! What wonderful insight you have into each novel you read. I need to have your posts come directly to my email so I won’t miss a one! How I pray you will remain in good health my friend! Blessings back, ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • RobbyeFaye says:

      Oh, Ellie, how sweet you are. I cherish your friendship!
      Thank you for the feedback, I always agonize over my reviews.
      I’m doing well, have a few blips here and there, but overall I’m much better!
      Blessings~

      Liked by 1 person

Hit me with your first thought!

