Double Play

Double Play 2

About book double

Sophie Pope is devastated when she hears the news: her former boyfriend, college football star Anthony “Rocket” Rogers, is engaged to be married. Determined to win him back before he says “I do,” Sophie hatches a foolproof plan to stop the wedding. But when Rocket’s best man, aspiring baseball player David Savage, thwarts her plot, she realizes the game is up. For David, though, it’s just beginning . . . David knows that Sophie is just another pretty face, and he’s more than happy to save his best friend from her shallow advances. She’s not his type at all, so he’s baffled by his response to an awkward encounter with Donovan, another of Sophie’s former flames. Despite himself, David feels driven by an inexplicable need to protect her. Pretending to be Sophie’s new fiancé leads to unexpected sparks between the pair, and soon they’re searching for excuses to spend time together. But when a curveball threatens to send them in opposite directions, will Sophie and David step up to the plate for the possibility of true love?

My review double

Sophie Pope believes she has it all, looks, fashion sense and the chutzpa to be a potential NFL star’s wife, so why is “Rocket” marrying TJ? TJ, a girl that was anything except what Rocket needed. And, with that in mind, Sophie sets out to stop the marriage.

David Savage, one of many friends of Sophie’s, realizes what she is up to and decides to foil her plan. He doesn’t, however, plan to fall in love with her, nor she with him.

Double Play by Ranée S. Clark is an interesting book. I had a hard time getting into it at first because I didn’t realize it was a sequel to Playing for Keeps, so I had difficulty keeping up with all the characters. I also had a hard time liking Sophie’s character, as she was mean, conniving and very superficial. Still, I did enjoy seeing the changes in the characters in the book as they grew and began to take their faith more seriously. An interesting side (not to the story) is that it is written from an LDS (Latter Day Saints) standpoint. Because of this, some of the story would have been foreign to me had I not been friends, at one time, with someone of the LDS religion.

Overall, Double Play is an enjoyable book, once you get past the confusion caused by it being a sequel.

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

About RobbyeFaye

An avid reader, homemaker and grandmother. I try to be as real, honest and thought provoking as possible. My blog is primarily devoted to book reviews, but at times it has stretched and grown, as it ebbs and flows with me. However, I still read a lot and review the books I read. Loving life and Jesus Christ.
This entry was posted in Books reviews and more. and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Double Play

  1. Good honest review. Sounds like a fun chick lit book. Not sure I could go with a character so unlikable, though!!! ;-0
    Nice to meet you and your excellent blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • RobbyeFaye says:

      Thank you!
      She eventually does change, but boy, was she a mess before! I think you would probably like it, as after a rough start, I enjoyed it.
      Thanks again, nice meeting you and I’m looking forward to getting to know you better!

      Like

  2. Pingback: My Article Read (2-15-2016) – My Daily Musing

Hit me with your first thought!

