Monday’s Musings

After much thought, discussions with family, friends and authors, and much consideration (though kicking and screaming almost all the way), I have decided to change my way of rating a book.

In the past, I railed against the current system because I felt there was no way to accurately denote an OUTSTANDING and PROFOUND book, especially if all books, for whatever reason, were deemed to be great i.e. 5-star. However, I have come to realize this isn’t fair to the authors and their hard work (not to mention, my feeble attempts at swimming against the stream weren’t making ANY difference, except in some cases to hurt the author and/or their ratings.).

So, with all these thoughts swirling in my head, I reached a conclusion. I will give ALL books I enjoy a 5-star rating. The only way there will be a lesser rating is if there are grammatical and/or spelling errors. If I feel I can’t give a book at least a 3-star rating, I won’t review it. If I give a 3-star rating I will give a detailed reason.

 

About RobbyeFaye

An avid reader, homemaker and grandmother. I try to be as real, honest and thought provoking as possible. My blog is primarily devoted to book reviews, but at times it has stretched and grown, as it ebbs and flows with me. However, I still read a lot and review the books I read. Loving life and Jesus Christ.
This entry was posted in Books, reviews and more.. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monday’s Musings

  1. I wrestled with this same dilemma once up a time. I came to a similar conclusion that if I couldn’t rate a book at a 4 or 5 star I wouldn’t write a review.
    Regarding the typos, I think all books will have a few, but I have read books that made me wonder if an editor or proofreader went through the manuscript before it went to print. Those kind of books frustrate me as a reader and unless the story itself is fantastic, I won’t continue reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • RobbyeFaye says:

      Kimberly, I’m with you. I realize that there is no way to catch every mistake without it costing a HUGE fortune, there just aren’t enough people! However, I don’t like reading a book that has so many you can’t enjoy the book. I’ve read a few doozies(sp) and wondered what or who proofed the story!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a kind idea! I like that you considered everything from the work the author put into it to the grammar. It’s all important.

    What I do is give 4.5 stars. While not everyone likes the same thing, it shows interest and room for growth.

    (besides, I’ll save 5 stars for the mothers to give their children)

    Liked by 1 person

    • RobbyeFaye says:

      I like that idea, Robin. I frequently do on GoodReads, too. The problem is mainly with sites like Amazon-you’re locked into either 4 or 5-star rating.
      I realize how much hard work it is and wanted to recognize that, too (I’ve dabbled with writing but never gotten really serious).
      😉 I believe all children should get 5-stars!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 🙂 You’ve just described the way I rate books. If I enjoyed it and would recommend it to others, I’ll give it 5 stars. And I don’t review books lower than 3 stars. I just don’t want to be overly negative in my postings.
    I hope you’ll be comfortable with your new system! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Hit me with your first thought!

