Friday’s Fiction

A Shenandoah Family Christmas

Review

Lisa Belcastro has written an intriguing book about Christmas of 1777, during the Revolutionary War.

Rebecca Reed traveled through a time portal, which took her from modern day to the Revolutionary War Era in 1777. She is grappling with extreme fear when her toddler, Felicity, contracts smallpox. She desperately wants to travel back to modern time but knows she doesn’t dare because there are no guarantees that she will return to the right time.

Unable to contain her fears, she convinces a group from the Shenandoah (the ship her husband captains) and some of her male relatives to find a way to obtain a forbidden vaccine for cowpox.

Lisa Belcastro has done a great job of writing a believable story. In fact, she convinced me, someone not usually a fan of the genre, to give it another chance. A Shenandoah Family Christmas, a novella based on the trilogy Winds of Change, works well as a standalone story.

I was provided with this book in exchange for an honest review.

Author Interview

Lisa Belcastro Interview Questions via Singing Librarian Books

 How did you get started as an author? What or whom inspired you?

My “professional” writings began as a journalist. After graduating with a degree in journalism and equine studies, I was hired by The Chronicle of the Horse, a weekly sport horse magazine. I LOVED my job! I traveled the States and overseas covering major equestrian competitions. I loved the travel, loved the friends I met and saw at the competitions, loved the horses. I never thought I’d give it up. Then, I got married and had a baby. I loved being a mom more than I loved travel, writing, and horses combined. I gave up the magazine job, and worked from home for years. As time went on, I got the itch to write again but knew traveling multiple weekends a month was out of the question. I went back to school, mostly online, for creative writing. A few more years passed, and I volunteered to organize and chaperone my daughter’s school trip aboard the schooner Shenandoah. Sailing across the Vineyard Sound, I imagined I was transported in time to colonial Boston. I wrote some notes, took a lot of pictures, and the Winds of Change series was born.  I often chuckle that becoming a mom shifted my focus away from writing, and then being a mom brought me back to writing.

 What writing projects are you currently working on? What can you tell us about these projects?

I have two novels and one novella coming out in 2016. Audition for Love is the second book in the Possible Dreams trilogy.

Audition is a contemporary romance set on Martha’s Vineyard. Broadway star Felicia Jenson is on Island for a two-week performance at the Vineyard Playhouse. Eric Young attended the Community Service Possible Dreams auction fundraiser, and purchased a walk-on appearance for his niece in Felicia’s show. Felicia has had one miserable relationship after another. Her director in NYC is hitting on her, and she’s ready to quit. Eric, a NYC attorney, is struggling to get over his brother’s death four years earlier, convinced that he should’ve died instead. Buried under the weight of guilt, Eric’s sole interest in women is to take care of his niece and his brother’s widow. Eric will soon discover that he can’t afford the stunning Felicia when her name appears on a list of witnesses for his newest case. Audition for Love releases next summer.

Shenandoah Song, the sixth story in the Winds of Change series, will focus on Jonah and Ava, who we meet in A Shenandoah Family Christmas. Ava’s beautiful voice, and Jonah’s love of music, bring them together. The Revolutionary War will tear them apart. One accident will throw them together, while a second tragic event will separate them physically and emotionally. My heart breaks for them as I’m typing this.

I’ll be writing another Christmas novella for release next November. I have until March to decide whether it will be a story with Ryan, Laurel, and Gracie from A Dream for Love, or whether I’ll focus on Tess and Hawk for the Winds of Change series.  Who knows, maybe I’ll write both!

What authors inspire your writing?

I am a book nerd, always have been. I grew up dreaming I was Laura Ingalls living in a little house on a prairie. C.S. Lewis took me away to worlds beyond my imagination, and I still read his books today.  I own dozens of Karen Kingsbury books. Her love stories, especially the Baxter series, have drawn me in and kept me turning pages as I sighed, cried, laughed, mourned, and rejoiced. I discovered Sandra Orchard’s romantic suspense books a couple of years ago, and have now read all of her novels. My bookshelves are filled with well-read books by Denise Hunter, Colleen Coble, Bodie and Brock Thoene, Cynthia Riggs, Jerry Jenkins, Robert Parker’s Spenser-for-Hire series, William Sirls, Janette Oke, and the list goes on and on.

What period of history interests you the most? Does this influence your writing?

I love, love, love the American Revolutionary War period in history. Perhaps because I was born in Boston, and grew up surrounded by the history of that era. When I first dreamed up the idea of Shenandoah Nights, the first book in the Winds of Change series, I knew exactly where I wanted to the set the book. I love writing a series during the War, and also writing a second series, Possible Dreams, set on Martha’s Vineyard now.

What inspired the idea for A Shenandoah Family Christmas?

My characters in the Winds of Change series, the Roberts family and the Reed family, live on present-day Martha’s Vineyard or in colonial Boston. In 2014, I wrote A Shenandoah Christmas about the Roberts family, and set the story in present day on the Vineyard. This year I wanted to visit with the Reed family and see how they were doing during the Revolutionary War. The second smallpox outbreak in Boston added a nice bit of tension to the story, and I had fun researching the disease.

What other hobbies do you enjoy when you are not writing?

I am a passionate runner. I run for TEAM413, and have completed a full marathon in every state in America. I love gardening, growing flowers and vegetables. I’m an avid reader, and total Disney fan.  I’m also the person you can call and say, “Want to go to XYZ?” I’m always up for travel or adventure (as long as I can afford it!).

Book Snippet

Chapter One

“Come on, sweet girl, take a sip of water.” Rebecca Reed held the teaspoon against Felicity’s lips. Although the baby burned with fever, she turned her head away, refusing the water.
Less than two months ago, they’d celebrated Felicity’s first birthday. Now, Rebecca feared her precious girl had contracted a serious case of influenza. For two days, she’d lain limp and despondent, her temperature reduced only with cold compresses and body wraps.
People died from influenza. Lots of people. Rebecca shuddered. She’d grown up untouched by fatal illnesses or the fear of contagious disease. Life in 1777 was so very different from everything she’d lived before she’d unknowingly entered the time portal in her now-husband’s ship, Shenandoah. In this time that was now her present, the colonists were battling Britain for their freedom. Disease and poverty ran rampant and soldiers died every day, victims of starvation, sickness, and freezing temperatures. Rebecca had known all this was going to happen, but she never thought her family might be, or would be, one of the casualties.
Shaking off the thought, Rebecca plunged the damp cloth into the pail of frigid stream water with melting chunks of ice Ben had brought upstairs a half hour ago. She wrung out the excess, then pressed the cloth to Felicity’s neck for a minute. Her temperature had to be close to 103, possibly higher. The cloth warmed almost instantly.
She turned over the beige fabric and placed the cooler side on her daughter’s forehead. Felicity barely moaned, her body wilted from hours of infection.
What Rebecca wouldn’t give for a bottle of children’s ibuprofen, a digital thermometer, and a prescription for Tamiflu. But that was a lifetime ago. Medicine, at least the kind she’d grown up with, wasn’t an option. Herbal treatments, ice baths from the nearly frozen-over stream, and vigilant care were her only options.
Rebecca attempted to give Felicity another sip of feverfew tea she’d boiled and let come to room temperature. The liquid merely dribbled down the side of her sweet little face. Swallowing back sobs, Rebecca rocked Felicity against her chest. “Lord, we need Your healing touch. Please deliver Felicity. Please don’t take my little girl.”
God was close to the sick and brokenhearted. How many times had Rebecca read those verses? Today, she needed to feel Him in the room, next to her, with Felicity. The swag of pine branches and red bow adorning the window reminded her that Christmas was coming. Felicity was too young to understand the holiday’s importance, but Rebecca couldn’t bear to think about Christmas arriving with Felicity still sick . . . or worse.
She kissed her baby on the cheek, then rose and carried her back to the crib. Last week, when General George Washington sent orders that Ben was to sail south before the weekend, Rebecca had moved the crib into the cozy spare room. Ben couldn’t afford to get sick. A fire burned in the hearth of the room that would one day be Felicity’s, and any sisters she might have. Rebecca positioned her in the crib nearer the far wall.
She gingerly lowered Felicity to the bed, which Ben had lined with sailcloth to protect the mattress during the cooling sessions. If only her baby girl would stir, resisting the separation from her mama. She didn’t. Her fourteen-month-old body didn’t react. Not so much as one finger reached out.
Another sob built in Rebecca’s throat. She fought against the sadness and fear. She would cry later, after Felicity was better, after this nightmare was over.
Determined to beat whatever ailed her daughter, Rebecca dunked a sheet into the cold water, and then covered Felicity. The goal was to bring her fever down and keep it down. She had halved two large onions and put them on rags around the crib. Whether it was an old wives’ tale or not, many women swore by sliced onions for guarding against germs. Rebecca would do all she could. She couldn’t fail Felicity. Nothing else mattered.
She glanced out the window. The diminishing light of the setting sun signified the dark days of winter and gave Rebecca an uncomfortable twist in her stomach. She moved across the small room and lit the oil lamp. She needed light—and hope.
Sitting in the rocking chair next to Felicity’s crib, Rebecca began singing the nursery rhymes of her childhood. The songs filled her with sweet memories of her mother and grandmother. She willed Felicity to hear her. How she longed to see her daughter rock from side to side, smiling as her mama sang to her.
“Rebecca!” Ben burst through the door. “I need to see Felicity.”
Startled, Rebecca jumped to her feet. “What’s wrong?”
“Let me examine Felicity first, then I shall explain.”
Her husband, Captain Benjamin Reed, was a kind and loving man, and also a man of detail. He ran a tight ship, missed little, and had earned the respect of his crew and fellow patriots. Feeling their daughter’s forehead, opening her mouth and examining her lips, Ben shook his head.
A new grip of fear crushed Rebecca’s heart. “What is it?”
“My love, I believe our daughter has smallpox.”
“No!” Rebecca wobbled, her body folding in on itself as the news delivered a brutal blow to her mind and body. Smallpox . . .
The dreaded disease that claimed thousands of victims over the last year, the scourge that Rebecca had taken such care to protect her daughter from—how could it have happened? It wasn’t possible for her to be sick. It just couldn’t be!
“How do you know? How can you be so sure?”
Ben drew a cloth from the bucket of ice water near the crib and laid it on Felicity’s head. “I sent notice to the crew that we were to sail to Delaware Bay to bring supplies to our troops who would winter at Valley Forge. A messenger arrived at the docks an hour ago with a note from William’s father. Upon discovering I was not present, the stable lad gave the note to Jonah, who arrived moments hence with the missive. William is covered in pox, severely ill, and in isolation.”
Rebecca gasped. Ben’s first mate, William Barton, was such a strong, rugged young man, she couldn’t imagine him sick. Felicity had looked so small in his arms the last time he visited—
“William was here two weeks ago. He played with Felicity. He—” Rebecca couldn’t finish her sentence, couldn’t say aloud what her mind did not want to hear.
“Aye, my love. It seems that the day after he returned from our meeting, William broke out in the rash. I remember how tired he looked, but I made no inquiry as to his health. William has never been one to complain. He made no mention of a fever or feeling ill.”
Rebecca shuddered. William was the Barton’s only son, the oldest of five children. “Is Jonah downstairs? I want to write Mrs. Barton a letter.”
Ben shook his head. “I sent my brother on his way immediately, telling him that our darling Felicity had been ill and that I now feared she could have smallpox.”
Running a finger along Felicity’s forehead, Rebecca felt for any sign of the telltale bumps. Nothing. Maybe it was simply the flu. The flu was bad enough, but nothing compared to smallpox. There was hope. “Is anyone else sick?”
“Nay.” Ben kissed Rebecca’s cheek, and then gently pried open Felicity’s lips to check her gums more thoroughly. No spots. Easing a finger between her gums, Ben opened Felicity’s mouth. No spots.
“Nothing,” Rebecca said, the relief
Ben cupped her chin and looked into Rebecca’s eyes. “I do not wish to give you false hope, Becca. We must be prepared for the worst. In the coming days, the course of the disease will reveal itself. Or it will not.”
Smallpox.
What if Ben was right? What if William died? What if that dreaded disease had its grip on her daughter?
Ben wrapped his strong arms around them, and began to pray. Rebecca buried her face in the crux of Felicity’s neck and listened to her husband call upon the Lord.
“Bless the Lord, O my soul: and all that is within me, bless his holy name. Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits: Who forgiveth all thine iniquities; who healeth all thy diseases; Who redeemeth thy life from destruction; who crowneth thee with lovingkindness and tender mercies . .
A Shenandoah Family Christmas Tour Banner

A Shenandoah Family Christmas Blog Tour

December 16–Fiction, Faith, and Fun
December 17–Bookworm Lisa | Reading Is My SuperPower
December 18–Captive Dreams Window
December 19–Crystal’s Chaotic Confessions
December 20–Katie’s Clean Book Collection
December 21–Mel’s Shelves | Singing Librarian Books
December 22–Anna Weaver Hurtt, Inspirational Author | Red Headed Book Lady
Giveaway

Link

https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d26850c547/?

If you are interested in becoming a Singing Librarian Books tour participant, apply HERE

About RobbyeFaye

An avid reader, homemaker and grandmother. I try to be as real, honest and thought provoking as possible. My blog is primarily devoted to book reviews, but at times it has stretched and grown, as it ebbs and flows with me. However, I still read a lot and review the books I read. Loving life and Jesus Christ.
This entry was posted in Books, reviews and more. and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Friday’s Fiction

  1. carol L says:

    I just found the Winds of Change series. Just from reading the excerpts and blogs from the books at her website I fell in love with it. I love Historical Fiction and Time Travel. I can’t wait to read all of them. Thank you for this giveaway chance.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol ((dot) com

    Liked by 2 people

  2. KitKat says:

    Looks good!

    Liked by 2 people

Hit me with your first thought!

