Blowing On Dandelions by Miralee Ferrell

Katherine’s soft exhale sent the dandelion fluff dancing on the current of air, but it didn’t bring the anticipated relief.

. . . Seeds-that’s all they were. Seeds that brought unwanted weeds when they matured. Just like her life.

Unwanted. Unwelcome. Unsung.

At least by the one person who mattered the most while she was growing up.

. . . It was time to put the past behind her. . .and somehow Katherine had to survive.”

Katherine Galloway is working hard to care for her two daughters and a boarding house after her husband’s death, when life goes from tough to hopelessly unbearable for the single Mom in 1860’s Oregon.

The very last thing Katherine needs or wants is a visit from her overbearing, authoritarian mother but not only does her mother visit-she decides to move in. Katherine has felt she never lived up to her mother’s expectations and the constant nitpicking seems to just further drive the point home.

Micah Jacobs, a widower, recently moved to Baker City, Oregon. He started a livery business in hopes of getting his teenage son, Zachary, away from books and into a trade. After all, at 15, Zachary should know books were not the answer; besides, their family had a history of working with their hands not their minds.

Both main characters have to deal with seemingly insurmountable odds but face similar situations in very different ways; one turning to God for hope and consolation, the other turning from God with animosity and resentment.

Miralee Ferrell does a masterful job of showing life from both sides of the coin as daughter and mother struggle to understand each other, father and son pursue different paths in life and boarders come to the realization of God’s love. She skillfully weaves an emotional story with romance in Blowing on Dandelions, book one in the Love Blossoms in Oregon series.

“Dandelions” is an enlightening and encouraging book for anyone who has struggled with an overbearing person(s) in their lives.

The author includes a chat, discussion questions and historical notes at the end of the book. She also includes a first chapter teaser of the series second book, Wishing on Buttercups.

A copy of this book was provided by in exchange for my honest review.  The opinions are my own and no compensation was given.

I have posted this on the following sites:

Deeper Shopping, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, CBD, Books A Million, Goodreads, LibraryThing, Powell’s Books and other sites too numerous to mention.


Hit me with your first thought!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s