So Far Behind-So Far To Go

After an extended stay in the hospital and rehab, my Dad is now recuperating at my sister’s.

As many of you know, my father was recently admitted to the hospital with a TIA (a precursor or warning sign before a possible stroke). Dad was also dehydrated and put on IV fluids. However, they ran the IV’s over too many days and caused him to have a stroke, a heart attack and pneumonia.

The Dr thinks the TIA may have been triggered by his being run over last year. He said it is not uncommon to have a stroke a year or more after a severe head injury.

This time, unlike any other, when Dad was in the hospital and again at rehab he wanted me to stay with him virtually 24/7. I stayed with him as much as I possibly could. However with having a home, family and other commitments to care for this was not easy and as a result, things sort of fell apart.

So here I sit today with the shambles of my house almost cared for and other things still fallen apart.

I am seriously considering a sabbatical until after the holidays so I can catch my breath and get back on track.

 

LR messdirty dishes1laundry

 

About RobbyeFaye

An avid reader, homemaker and grandmother. I try to be as real, honest and thought provoking as possible. My blog is primarily devoted to book reviews, but at times it has stretched and grown, as it ebbs and flows with me. However, I still read a lot and review the books I read. Loving life and Jesus Christ.
Aside | This entry was posted in Books reviews and more.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So Far Behind-So Far To Go

  1. Skye says:

    Oh, Sweet Friend!!! You are exactly where I was two years ago after my dad’s horrific car crash. I spent a year driving back and forth to the hospital (the next state over). My life was that hospital room, my car, and the ruins of a house that I wished to just call home again. Please, just take time right now for you, and do not feel like you have to do any of it over night. Small steps with plenty of rest as you can until you can recover yourself.

    You are in my prayers. If you need to talk, I am here. Skye.

    Like

Hit me with your first thought!

