Degrees of Separation

I am not sure what got me to thinking about this the other day; I attribute it to the blog I read: http://lessonsbyheart.wordpress.com/2013/08/20/no-solicitors-really/ Please bear with me as I explain.

I remembered a game going around some years ago (and may still be for all I know since I had never played it) about the 6 Degrees of Separation from Kevin Bacon. I had always thought it a crazy notion and never paid attention to it, but the Lord revealed something about it to me in a dream a few nights ago.

By the way, the following is true; however, I had forgotten about the incident until the Lord jogged my memory in a dream.

When I was younger my family traveled from Texas to Alabama and Georgia every year on vacation to see family (in fact, we were caught in the middle of a Martin Luther King march in Birmingham one time and on another trip we were in the middle of a race riot as we went through Birmingham. I’ll save those for later stories).

I remember when I was a little older going to a George Wallace Campaign event. And, this is where the 6 Degrees comes into play. At the event, Tex Ritter played as an opener or closer-cannot remember which. As you know John Ritter is Tex Ritter’s son, I met Tex (and maybe even John for all I know, I was too young to know or even really have a clue who he or most of the others were).  John Ritter’s Jason Ritter’s daddy and at this point, I have to reallystretch  to get the next degree, but Jason Ritter and Kevin Bacon both have been in Friday the Thirteenth movies, albeit not at the same time.

Now I know you are asking yourself, “So?” because I know I would be.

The Lord laid upon my heart the difference in degrees from Him between believers and unbelievers.

For the believers there is no Degree of Separation from our Lord. We can call on Him, talk to Him, read about Him and have a glorious relationship with Him. But, alas, our unbelieving friends, family and those we are acquainted with have an INFINITE amount of separation from Him. How sad and convicting this should be for us as Christians as we look across the field just waiting for harvest.

Matthew 9:37, 38 Then saith he unto his disciples, The harvest truly is plenteous, but the labourers are few; Pray ye therefore the Lord of the harvest, that he will send forth labourers into his harvest.

Luke 10:2 Therefore said he unto them, The harvest truly is great, but the labourers are few: pray ye therefore the Lord of the harvest, that he would send forth labourers into his harvest.

Revelation 14:15 And another angel came out of the temple, crying with a loud voice to him that sat on the cloud, Thrust in thy sickle, and reap: for the time is come for thee to reap; for the harvest of the earth is ripe.

3 thoughts on “Degrees of Separation

  1. Thanks for the mention!

    I’m so thankful that the Lord allows His children instant access anytime we want. That is comforting. I can’t imagine how others make it through this life without Him.

    Lord, help us to be bold in our proclamation of Your Good News, give us eyes to see those You’ve brought to us, and Your heart for them. Amen.

    \o/

    Like

  2. Well, we can bring the good and worthy ideas to so many people through our doings. Creation is one the most challenging and rewarding activities, for example. As we create, we bring the positive things to life and give our lives lots of meaning.

    Like

Hit me with your first thought!

