Rebellion . . . Stubbornness

I have many Bibles at home, scattered from room to room. I have an archaeological reference Bible, a side-by-side comparison version, many mini Bibles, a teenage version I won when I was 14 or 15 at VBS for memorizing the most verses and several others. But, my favorite by far is my KJV given to my DH and me when we married.

I do not like to write in books, highlight, underline, make notes, turn down corners or get books dirty. My books look as nice after I have read them as they did in the bookstore-except my KJV.  It is written in, highlighted, underlined and has tons of notes in the margins, not to mention little scraps of paper with additional notes tucked inside it. It is quite literally falling apart, the front pages are missing and the cover is in pieces, but my KJV is still my favorite to read.

I reached for it Sunday and it fell open to a section in 1st Samuel. Even though this was not what I had planned to read, I decided to anyway.

1 Samuel 15:23:

For rebellion is as the sin of witchcraft, and stubbornness is as iniquity and idolatry. Because thou hast rejected the word of the Lord, he hath also rejected thee from being king.

Wow, talk about conviction on many, many levels!

I realized not only was I rebellious but by being lax with my g’daughter and allowing her to rebel and be stubborn and by not addressing the offense, I was causing her to sin in a much more profound way than I ever imagined.

I, like most adults, figured all teens go through some type of rebellion and stubbornness, so I will on many occasions let it slide.

I am not doing her any favors.

The Lord really helped me to realize that her rebellion and stubbornness towards me was also how my rebellion and stubbornness was toward Him.

I constantly struggle with trust and will turn something over to God only to turn around and take it back. My stubbornness and fear does not let me let go.

Several times in the Bible the Lord says, “Be of good cheer; it is I; be not afraid.” So I will cling to this through my feeble human attempts to trust the Lord and relinquish my rebellion and stubbornness.

 

About RobbyeFaye

An avid reader, homemaker and grandmother. I try to be as real, honest and thought provoking as possible. My blog is primarily devoted to book reviews, but at times it has stretched and grown, as it ebbs and flows with me. However, I still read a lot and review the books I read. Loving life and Jesus Christ.
This entry was posted in Books, reviews and more.. Bookmark the permalink.

Hit me with your first thought!

