From Shards of Memories-Gingerbread Houses in July!

MONDAY, JULY 27, 2009

We bought a gingerbread house kit on sale approx 18 months ago, and it was promptly and dutifully packed down for the next Christmas. After all, the expiration was 18 months away and surely we would be using it for Christmas the next year.

Well, surely we did not, LOL!

We found it while sorting through some boxes recently. Yesterday we decided to put it together. We had a lot of fun until Lexie’s friend called and wanted to play. At that point we only had the basic structure iced together.

I must say in fairness to Lexie, I don’t really blame her for skipping out on me. Poor thing hasn’t gotten to play outside for about a month and a half now.

Anyway, off she goes, pleading with me to finish.

I did, and learned many things along the way regarding gingerbread houses. First and foremost, don’t EVER believe the instructions. I very logically and carefully followed the directions only to find they did not work!

I was instructed to put the house together and THEN make outlines in frosting of the doors and windows. Wrong, Wrong, WRONG – because once the structure is together and roof is on, you can’t get to the area to pipe the outlines without making a mess all over you and the house.

Now, I’m not discounting that this might be the intent; most people, kids especially, really like frosting. But none of my kids, nor my g’daughter really care for it.

I however Really, REALLY like frosting!

I guess you can see where this is going. Every mess HAD to be cleaned up, right?

So, here I am, dripping icing everywhere including all over myself, no help in sight, and eating all the icicles that won’t stay on.

BTW, icicles that fall off gingerbread houses, sound a lot like icicles falling off houses in the South.

In the South you seldom have icicles and usually when you do, they aren’t completely solid to begin with, so when they fall they make sort of a light thump sound. Just like icing icicles.

Now, up North, I’ve heard icicles fall that rattled windows for miles, shook pictures off the wall and made you feel like you were in an earthquake! (OK, I know this is a sliiiiiiiiiiiiight exaggeration, but they are humongo, ginormous things that have been known to impale people and THAT is NO exaggeration!

In any case, I finished the house in time for her to come back and decide she really liked it. Except, well maybe, here and here and…. Well, you get the picture. And with that segue. . . here’s the picture of the completed (more or less) gingerbread house.

So, what do you think? Remember, too, please this is the first time I’ve been able to finish one because they were always eaten during the making before, after all, they didn’t want the frosting!

POSTED BY ROBBYEFAYE AT 7:31 AM

About RobbyeFaye

An avid reader, homemaker and grandmother. I try to be as real, honest and thought provoking as possible. My blog is primarily devoted to book reviews, but at times it has stretched and grown, as it ebbs and flows with me. However, I still read a lot and review the books I read. Loving life and Jesus Christ.
This entry was posted in Books, reviews and more.. Bookmark the permalink.

Hit me with your first thought!

