Free? Or “Safe”?

Great post. I re-blogged! Thanks.

Lessons by Heart

After the festering wounds healed and the swelling subsided, I discovered that the handcuffs and shackles that kept me bound all my life easily slipped off my hands and ankles.

Nevertheless, I kept pulling them back on like bangles that wouldn’t stay put; I wore them like prized jewelry.

Tazein Mirza Saad wrote an article yesterday. Her post began with this quote from Staypositive.me:

“Your past is just a story.

And once you realize this,

it has no power over you.

After I read what she had to say, I had to ask myself why I insist on clinging to my bonds. After all, “big” people no longer have the power to do the unthinkable to me. I am under no obligation to maintain a relationship with people who verbally abuse me or want to manipulate me for selfish reasons. Friends who abandoned me have been replaced with true ones.

I’m…

View original post 722 more words

About RobbyeFaye

An avid reader, homemaker and grandmother. I try to be as real, honest and thought provoking as possible. My blog is primarily devoted to book reviews, but at times it has stretched and grown, as it ebbs and flows with me. However, I still read a lot and review the books I read. Loving life and Jesus Christ.
This entry was posted in Books, reviews and more.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Free? Or “Safe”?

  1. My first thought was, “Wow! Thank you.” 😉

    \o/
    Praise Jesus!

    Like

Hit me with your first thought!

