The Difference You Make by Pat Williams

The Difference You Make by Pat Williams

With Jim Denney

Pat Williams has hit it out of the ballpark and slam-dunked it with his book, The Difference You Make.  What an eye opening and provocative book.  Pat reflects over his life and the people who have influenced him, along with the ones he has influenced.

The entire book is about the impact of influence.  Pat touches on how his struggles with multi-myeloma cancer have helped open his eyes to the influences each person has, influences for good or bad, whether the person realizes their influence or not.

As a Dad, Pat had a huge impact on the lives of his nineteen children.   In addition, he has influenced as a coach for minor league baseball teams and influences as GM for a major league basketball team.

The book illustrates how we never know how we will influence people, even ourselves sometimes, as this example on page 131 richly demonstrates:

Image

Each chapter of the book ends with a series of questions for group discussion or individual reflection, enabling a deeper understanding of the chapter.

He helps us learn and inspires us step by step, in how to become more strategic and intentional within our spheres of influence. He also helps us to use our lives as a mission to impact as many people as is possible with a lasting and positive influence.

Pat ends his book with the sentence:

The difference you make tomorrow begins with the decisions you make today.  

The book really brought home how important and significant our lives are as people, Christians, parents, bosses, co-workers or whatever our walk in life may happen to be. We never know how what we say or do will influence someone else.

Even though the book has a sports slant, it carries an effective and interesting message for everyone, male or female, sports nut or not.

This book was provided to me by Revell through The Book Club Network in exchange for an honest review.

Book difference

Pat Williams photo

About RobbyeFaye

An avid reader, homemaker and grandmother. I try to be as real, honest and thought provoking as possible. My blog is primarily devoted to book reviews, but at times it has stretched and grown, as it ebbs and flows with me. However, I still read a lot and review the books I read. Loving life and Jesus Christ.
This entry was posted in Books, reviews and more. and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Difference You Make by Pat Williams

  1. Marty says:

    I have read many blogs except this post is truly good, keep it up.

    Like

  2. Maybelle Erdmann says:

    Hey I am so delighted I found your webpage, I really found you by mistake, while I was browsing for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a incredible post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the awesome job.

    Like

  3. Evia says:

    I enjoy what you do. The clever work and exposure! Keep up the wonderful work. I’ve incorporated you to our blogroll.

    Like

  4. Zachariah says:

    Thanks for the marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will come back down the road. I want to encourage you to continue your great writing, have a nice weekend!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Tom

  6. Fan says:

    Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to check it out. I’m undoubtedly loving the details. I’m book-marking and will likely be tweeting this to my followers! Outstanding weblog and great style.

    Like

  7. Kyle says:

    As soon as I observed this blog site, I went on Reddit to share some of the love with others.

    Like

Hit me with your first thought!

