“Pet” Peeves

It started with a whisper…no that’s not right, that was a song I heard while shopping one day that’s stuck in my brain!

The real aggravation point, for me, started with our local newspaper.  At some point they fired all their copy editors and started relying on grammar and spell check.  Now, our paper isn’t a small paper by any means as we have Pulitzer Prize winning journalists and photographers on staff and a healthy readership. (I feel they are WAY, Way too liberal but that’s a story for another time perhaps.)

I, along with many other readers, started noticing little mistakes every now and then.  Just enough to be annoying but not so much that one would cancel their subscription. However, that changed after I placed an ad in the paper.

The ad I requested was: Female, pure bred Chihuahua, spayed and up to date with shots. Loves people.

The ad I got: Pure bread spade female Chihuahua. Loves people.

OK, now can anyone-anyone tell me what a full bread spade Chihuahua is?   I know I haven’t the foggiest idea what it is and I’m almost afraid to guess!

This ad provoked me for a lot of reasons, not the least of which, they never updated it after my call and continued to run it as was and to charge full price to boot.

So, at this point the g’daughter and I started to monitor the paper until we cancelled our subscription in exasperation.

This brings me to my second point on peeves. I’ve also noted the same trend in books. Where e-books are concerned I usually just pass the errors off as formatting or technical issues, but I’ve noticed more and more mainstream books falling into the same trap.

I was reading the first chapter of a book the other day and caught two MAJOR errors on the first page. The young lady in the story hung things to dry on the “close” line and then “peddled” her bicycle as quickly as possible.

Now I don’t know about you but I’ve never hung things out to dry on my “close” line.  And while I may be tempted to “peddle” my bike it would not be as quickly as possible unless it was at an auction.

Other errors commonly include there’s for theirs, hear for here, your for you’re and the list goes on and on. It’s not hard to understand how the errors occur.  If the word is spelled correctly, though used incorrectly, then grammar/spell check doesn’t catch the difference in meaning.

Some are so funny I am actually thinking of posting updates occasionally on errors I have found.

The reason I get peeved about these errors is the break that puts a brake on my concentration and makes it hard to continue to read.

And don’t even get me started on grammatical and nonsense errors, I may never shut up!

About RobbyeFaye

An avid reader, homemaker and grandmother. I try to be as real, honest and thought provoking as possible. My blog is primarily devoted to book reviews, but at times it has stretched and grown, as it ebbs and flows with me. However, I still read a lot and review the books I read. Loving life and Jesus Christ.
This entry was posted in Books reviews and more.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Pet” Peeves

  1. Kit says:

    Funny! These things aggravate me, too.

    Like

Hit me with your first thought!

